Too Fat

I LOVE FOOD.

I rarely eat or make food from the box and I can’t remember the last time I went to a fast-food restaurant. But who needs these when there are so many real things to make and eat. Even if I have a lack of time or will, I can usually scrounge up something fast and good.

Don’t get me wrong I love to eat out, order pizza, and am normally too lazy to create food that could win a competition.

For a long time, I’ve been cooking and eating (or trying) real food. Everything about it fuels me. Eating good food with good company can be a sensual experience (not sexual, get your mind out of the gutter). 

It should be pleasurable not something to stick down your throat in 5 minutes. To me, eating a wonderful meal is instant happiness and if I made it, well, that’s even better.

With all of the cooking, baking, and lack of portion control, I am fat.  I don’t like to think myself this way. Fluffy, sure.  Jolly, maybe. Scratch that…jolly sounds like Santa Claus.

This isn’t to say that eating real food will make you fat, in fact when I started eating real food  years ago I lost some weight. It’s the quantity and lack of any movement whatsoever that takes a toll on the body. So, I need to revisit the French way to eat. (see previous entry about the French Paradox and diet)  Years ago I started a method of eating that focuses on real food. I was successful with creating a pleasurable life with real food, but I lack control with portion size as well as keeping myself off the couch. The more the better was(is?) my motto. The food is so good why not get another helping?

The Losing Ambition re-tool of lifestyle with food hopefully can help.  How can I continue to cook real food, eat slower, and take longer mealtimes without re-arranging any other aspect of my American life? The goal is to slow down to enjoy wonderful food(because, come on, food is very pleasurable) AND lose weight. Not a quick fix to weight loss, but I’m not in the mood to eat only carrots or starve myself.

4 responses to “Too Fat

  1. What do you define as “real food”? From my experience, the category to strive for is nutrient-dense whole foods. This category still has huge variety and, if you are a good cook, can make healthy eating a very pleasurable experience indeed.

    • Hello Schalk,
      Thank you for your comment. It is a very good one, and one that could be differnt depending on who you ask and what country. Perhaps my definition doesn’t encompass the proper meaning, but I define real food thusly:

      Foods that are grown organically, not mechanically processed, or come from an animal. e.g. fruits, veg, meats, cheeses, nuts, beans, etc.

      I am not completely unfamiliar with nutrient dense foods and I agree people should be aware what this means (people should also be aware of there their food comes from but that is a different topic). I love to use as many nutrient dense and superfoods in my diet as I can.

      Also, by real foods, I mean things that I can make. For example, I know that pasta and ice cream are not nutrient dense; however, I still consider this a real food. This is because I make these products easily from good whole ingredients.

      As I try to lose weight with real foods, I think your point of density is a good one to keep in mind.

      Thank you,
      Claudia

  2. Yes, correct ratios are a key factor. Also, lifestyle. Speaking of portions/ratios, eating out can be difficult as well… so community culture is a factor. By this I mean that the portions when one goes out is completely out of wack. Value is measured by quantity not quality (in most restaurants outside the major metro city). When starting out on a new food lifestyle, it takes a lot of will because restaurant portions are HUGE! (more on this later)
    Thanks for the food pyramid link and your comment.

Leave a Reply

